Going Shopping!

Yesterday I needed to get some shopping so it was my first foray to the Dubai shopping scene.  I went to the Ibn Battuta shopping centre which is apparently fairly modest by Dubai standards.  It only has a 21 cinema complex with an IMAX, it’s only about 1 km from one side to the other.  I needed to pick up a clothes iron (there’s an ironing board but no iron in the apartment), some electrical adaptors (the kitchen appliances have round plugs and need to be square UK type ones which also means that I have not been able to charge my shaver or own phone at home) and some other supermarket stuff. 

Went to Geant which is sort of Coles, Kmart and Harvey Norman all rolled into the one store.  Thought also that would be the only place that I would be able to cash the 500 dirham note that was given to me by the ATM yesterday at work (that’s about $170 equivalent).  People who know me know just how much I love shopping and the experience was all that I could have hoped it to be.  Fortunately, they had a really nice exhibition of who Ibn Battuta was in the central area – a 14th century muslim explorer who travelled throughout the Middle East, to China and western Africa.  Had dinner there at the food court reading the MX equivalent (which looks eerily similar), and decided to walk through the supermarket but got tired before I reached the end – it is that big!! 

It’s a public holiday here tomorrow (Thursday) which means I have a long weekend.  Will be off to do some birding, exploring, driving and beaching. Still do not have Internet access at the apartment so may be out of action for a couple of days.

Leave a Reply

