Finally Back in Dubai

My last post on 8 May was from the Dubai Airport en route back to Australia for a week’s R&R with family and friends.  I felt great for the first two days and celebrated my birthday at one of my favourite Vietnamese restaurants, Indochine, in Box Hill on 10 May.  Unfortunately, I woke up the next morning feeling like I had been run over by a truck and went down hill from there, being diagnosed with bronchitis and then pneumonia.  An incredibly severe chest infection with a high fever and an inability to regulate my core temperature – I was going from shivers and shakes through to sweats every couple of hours. 

The upshot was that rather than spend some quality time with family, I was in bed with a hot water bottle, drinking soup, and coughing and coughing.  I could not even share the bed with Lyn which I was really looking forward to doing!!  After 5 days of feeling the worst I think I have ever felt, I gradually improved but had to delay my return to Dubai until I was better.  The benefit of course was being able to spend more time in Australia with family, the downside was that it completely stuffed up my work schedule back here in Dubai.  That also made the leaving more emotionally difficult – I’d got quite used to being home again and the thought of not being back there for a few months was not comforting!  Healthwise, I am not too bad – still have a bit of a cough but will take it easy and have the warm weather clear the remnants of consolidation and shadowing that was revealed in the chest X-rays.

But now the desert-dude is back in Dubai and will be blogging away fairly heavily on both lukedubai and knowledgefutures over the next couple of weeks as there has been no activity recently and I would like to catch up and get the conversation happening again about both life here in Dubai as well as the things I have been thinking and reading about in the world of knowledge management and futures.

I arrived back in Dubai early yesterday at 5.30 am having got some sleep on the plane’s direct flight  (I missed the midnight snack!), caught the cab back to the apartment, tried to catch some sleep and might have dozed for 20 minutes, before heading into the office at 8.30 for a full day’s work.  Went and got some take away dinner and breakfast things after work only to keep falling asleep while trying to stay awake! Gave in at 11 pm when I had slept on the couch for two of the last three hours.  Had a full day’s work today and quite productive – certainly back into it now!!

Leave a Reply

