Be Careful When Driving

This was my first weekend for a month without the family so I decided to get out and about with some birdwatching in the mornings before it became too hot.

It was very pleasant on the Friday morning as driving down on the Abu Dhabi road, there was a very thick fog. Temperature around 28 degrees but the fog meant that I could walk around in pleasant comfort without the sun making me sweat. The problem was that it meant that I could not see the beautiful Bee-eaters that I could hear flying overhead (but I saw them the next day anyway). Driving along the highway was hazardous – had to slow down to about 60 km/h because of the thickness of the fog. Last time I was on the road, it was the dust-storms that made me slow down.

Heavy fog on the road to Ghantoot

Heavy fog on the road to Ghantoot

And driving is also really difficult when you come across a sand drift that has been blown on to the road. This one was about 2 feet high and would have caused a big problem if you had have hit it doing 100 km/h. This is the worst one that I have seen (and means you have to be double careful if driving on any of these country roads at night).

Sand drift over the Bab Al Shams - Al Mahar road

Sand drift over the Bab Al Shams - Al Mahar road

Leave a Reply

