Basketball!

One of the things I was planning on doing in Dubai was finding somewhere that I could play basketball.  Well thanks to Francoise, I have finally heard that someone organises some scratch matches at the nearby Dubai International Academy – one of the local high schools.

You arrive around 7.30 pm and put your name up on the board in a team and pay the 20 dirhams.  Then play scratch (no referees) for the first to 7 against different teams.  The pace is a bit faster than I am used to as I have been playing over 35’s for the past 10 years.  Quite a few young Egyptian players and lots of Yanks with superb ball skills.  I felt like making up the numbers.  And playing man on man was also a bit strange.  A couple of women playing as well.

Played three games and we did OK. I even shot a basket or two under the ring but the skills were very rusty.  Each Tuesday and Thursday evenings so I reckon that will make up one of my nights per week. 

Basketball at Dubai International Academy

Basketball at Dubai International Academy

Leave a Reply

